Colorado Homeschool Laws
Colorado has three ways to provide homeschooling. The description below covers homeschooling under the Homeschool Statute.
Age 6 to 17
Students must be tested with a nationally standardized test or by a “qualified person” to ensure they have made adequate progress. The assessments or evaluations must completed in grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11.
A qualified person means; A Colorado certified teacher, a private school teacher, a licensed psychologist or a person with a graduate degree in education.
Children must be instructed in:
The US Constitution, Reading, Writing, Speaking, Math, History, Civics, Literature and Science.
Notice must be given 14 days before starting homeschool and annually thereafter.
The notice must include the names, ages, residence and hours of attendance of the children being taught.
Attendance records must be kept.
172 days of instruction are required.
Immunization records must be kept.
Exemptions do exist. A form must be filed.
If a superintendent has “probable cause” to believe the homeschool program is not in compliance with Colorado law they can request, and parents are generally required to provide, access to homeschool records. The superintendent must provide 14 days notice of this request.
In addition to the Homeschool Statute Option described above, Colorado offers an independent school option and a certified teacher option for homeschooling.
*The information on this page is for general use only. It should not be taken as legal advice. It is believed to be accurate however state and federal laws change every year. Homeschool.net recommends joining an organization such as the Home School Legal Defense Association before your homeschooling adventure begins. HSLDA can provide complete, accurate, legal advice and services for homeschooling families.