Georgia Homeschool Laws
Ages 6 to 16
Beginning in the 3rd grade your student must tested every three years. The test can be administered by the parent if done in consultation with a person trained in the administration and interpretation of norm referenced tests.
Test results DO NOT have to be submitted to public school officials.
You are also required to write an annual progress report detailing the progress your child made in each of the required subjects. You must maintain a copy for three years. It also DOES NOT have to be submitted to public school officials.
Required subjects are:
reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science.
Within 30 days after you begin homeschooling, and every year thereafter by September 1, you must submit a “declaration of intent to utilize a home study program” to the Georgia Department of Education.
The form can be found HERE.
You are not required to keep attendance records.
However, you ARE required to provide the equivalent of 180 days of education with each school day consisting of at least four and one-half school hours.
The parent, guardian or any tutor in a home study program must have a high school diploma or GED.
*The information on this page is for general use only. It should not be taken as legal advice. It is believed to be accurate however state and federal laws change every year. Homeschool.net recommends joining an organization such as the Home School Legal Defense Association before your homeschooling adventure begins. HSLDA can provide complete, accurate, legal advice and services for homeschooling families.