How Can We Help?
Louisiana Homeschool Laws
Louisiana Louisiana has a #1 Home Study Option and #2 Home Based Private School Option. Option #2 is described below.
Age 7 to 18
You must notify the public school your child attended within 10 days of enrolling in a home-based private school.
Include the child’s legal name, date of birth, gender and race.
You may also request a copy of their transcript.
Each year provide your private school’s total attendance as of the 30th day of your school’s term.
You are required to operate for 180 days each year.
Option #1 has subject and assessment requirements and will allow your child to apply for the TOPS Scholarship in the 10th grade.
*The information on this page is for general use only. It should not be taken as legal advice. It is believed to be accurate however state and federal laws change every year. Homeschool.net recommends joining an organization such as the Home School Legal Defense Association before your homeschooling adventure begins. HSLDA can provide complete, accurate, legal advice and services for homeschooling families.