Tuesday, April 16, 2024
Latest:

    How Can We Help?

    Nebraska Homeschool Laws

    ← All Topics

    Nebraska

    Yes. In some cases.

    From NE Dept of Ed.

    Student Testing. When the Department, in order to verify information
    submitted pursuant to this Chapter deems it necessary to have conducted
    regular achievement testing of students attending the school, Department
    officials shall contact the parent representative and a test, a time, and a
    procedure shall be mutually designated and established. Denial of student
    testing for this purpose, so long as pursued in this manner, shall be cause for
    the Department to determine that the exempt school is not meeting
    requirements relating to the sequential program of instruction designed to lead
    to basic skills in the language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and
    health. Therefore, it shall not be deemed an exempt school and the procedure
    in Section 006 above will be initiated.

    Language Arts

    Mathematics

    Science

    Social studies

    Health

    Yes.

    Once Form A.

    Annually Form B.

    Annually an Information Summary.

    Both parents must submit a notarized “Parent or Guardian Form.”

    This form requires you to state under oath that requirements for state approval and accreditation of your school either “interfere with my decisions in directing my child(ren)’s education” or “violate my sincerely held religious beliefs.” This form must be filed promptly upon beginning homeschooling in Nebraska and by July 15 each year thereafter.

    The Information Summary must include:

    • a calendar for the school year (July 1–June 30) indicating a minimum instruction of 1,080 hours in secondary schools and 1,032 hours in elementary schools. (For a homeschool, this can be a general statement of when the school term begins and ends.)
    • a list of all “instructional monitors” in the homeschool (typically the parents), including their names, ages, and highest levels of education completed.
    • a scope and sequence for each grade level being taught.

    a calendar for the school year (July 1–June 30) indicating a minimum instruction of 1,080 hours in secondary schools and 1,032 hours in elementary schools. (For a homeschool, this can be a general statement of when the school term begins and ends.)

    Yes.

    Or you can file for an exemption HERE

    In Nebraska a homeschool is considered to be a private school that operates under an exemption from accreditation requirements for religious or non-religious reasons.

    Use the forms HERE to set up and operate your homeschool.

    *The information on this page is for general use only. It should not be taken as legal advice. It is believed to be accurate however state and federal laws change every year. Homeschool.net recommends joining an organization such as the Home School Legal Defense Association before your homeschooling adventure begins. HSLDA can provide complete, accurate, legal advice and services for homeschooling families.

    Table of Contents