New Mexico Homeschool Laws
Age 5 to 18
First time notice within 30 days of starting your homeschool.
Annually by August 1.
NM Dept of Education provides an online form (HERE) to be mailed to:
New Mexico Department of Education
Attn: Home School Notification
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
You are required to teach the same number of days your local school is in session, typically 180 days.
High School Diploma or GED
Or obtain a waiver based on a religious objection or medical condition.
*The information on this page is for general use only. It should not be taken as legal advice. It is believed to be accurate however state and federal laws change every year. Homeschool.net recommends joining an organization such as the Home School Legal Defense Association before your homeschooling adventure begins. HSLDA can provide complete, accurate, legal advice and services for homeschooling families.